Encyclopedia of Fantasy (1997)
Gandalf Award

An award created by Lin Carter to honour lifetime fantasy achievement, and given within the framework of the Hugo Awards (see SFE link below) 1974-1981. The award was presented the year following the year designated. Winners were:

1973: J R R Tolkien (posthumously)

1974: Fritz Leiber

1975: L Sprague de Camp

1976: Andre Norton

1977: Poul Anderson

1978: Ursula K Le Guin

1979: Ray Bradbury

1980: C L Moore. [JC]


  • The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction: Hugo.

This entry is taken from the Encyclopedia of Fantasy (1997) edited by John Clute and John Grant. It is provided as a reference and resource for users of the SF Encyclopedia, but apart from possible small corrections has not been updated.